DIY – Chalkboard Frame

I’ve always loved chalkboard. As a kid, I had a large chalkboard that I would use to draw all over, erase and start over again. In college, we had a wonderful chalkboard wall that got filled up with all sorts of ridiculous things. Nowadays, chalkboard is everywhere and I love it. It is super easy to add chalkboard to anything now that you can get it in paint format.

Recently, I got my hands on an older frame and thought it would be fun to paint it and add a chalkboard in the middle. Now it serves as an ever changing piece of art in our dining room. I can add fun new quotes, only to erase them when I get bored and start over again. Here are some photos along the way.

Here are 2 old frames pre-paint job. The larger one came from my Soon-To-Be-Father-in-Law’s workshop, the other came from a friends yard sale.

Image

Then I decided to spray paint them BLUE

Image

The smaller frame had a mirror, so I just put that back in. Since the larger frame did not have anything else to it, said Soon-To-Be-Father-In-Law cut a piece of wood to fit inside the bigger frame. We then painted the inner piece of wood with chalkboard paint and put it into the frame. If you have a frame that has a back or glass to it, you could easily paint that with chalkboard paint. We used a quart of chalkboard paint that we bought at Walmart, but you could also use chalkboard spray paint (actually recommended if you are painting glass) And voila!

Image

One thought on “DIY – Chalkboard Frame

Leave a Reply

