I Do, Now Let’s Dance

As some of you may or may not know, I recently got married! So it is now official, my new initials are BS! Hence the name of this blog… in addition to all the extra bullish*t.

Image

Photo taken by With Love & Embers 

Now that the wedding is over and (awesome) married life has started for us, I figured I share some of the details of our wedding. For me, wedding planning was exciting, overwhelming at times (even for a girl who loves planning), but fun. It is easy to get bogged down by all the decisions that need to be made and get caught up on what would be right, perfect, or appropriate. We tried to go about wedding planning our own way and simply choose things we liked. Sometimes it is best to not over think things.

For us, music is big. We were engaged for over a year and during that time, I would hear a song I liked and scribble it down somewhere. God only knows where all those little sticky notes and songs written on the back of receipts went. Also, a group of our friends started a fun thing called CD of the Month where each month one of us makes a CD/Playlist and sends it to the other. It is a great way to find new tunes and it was perfect for me as I was lining up the soundtrack for the wedding evening (and fun for the friends who heard the songs they picked through the night). Through all of that, we came up with a set of songs for our wedding that we really liked. If you are planning a wedding, hopefully this can give some new inspiration for the soundtrack to your wedding day. Here were the winners:

Pre-Ceremony Music (to help set the tone while your guests wait for the bridal party to do their thing):

-Penguin Cafe Orchestra – Perpetuum Mobile

-Arcade Fire – Intervention

-Angus & Julia Stone – Paper Aeroplane

Ceremony Music:

– Family & Bridal Party Processional – The Temper Trap – Sweet Disposition

– Bride Processional – Rufus Wainwright – Hallelujah

– Ceremony Recessional – Beach Boys – Wouldn’t It Be Nice

Cocktail Hour or Dinner Music – the DJ said he normally played light jazz during these times, I said well… how about some of these instead. Apologies for the long list, but like I said, we really like music.

– Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes – Home

– Van Morrison – Crazy Love

– Jason Myles Gross – Twilight Serenade

– The Donnis Trio – Tip of the Tongue

– Gregory Alan Isakov – The Stable Song

– Griffin House – Better Than Love

– Cris Jacobs Band – Be My Stars

– Bright Eyes – First Day of My Life

– The Avett Brothers – Murder in the City

– The Lumineers – Flowers In Your Hair

– The Lumineers – Classy Girls

– The Lumineers – Dead Sea

– Cass McCombs – That’s That

– Bronze Radio Return – Shake Shake Shake

– Fort Atlantic – There is Love

– LCD Soundsystem – All My Friends

– Tennis – Marathon

– Gorillaz – On Melancholy Hill

– Augie March – One Crowded Hour

– Jack’s Mannequin – Swim

– City & Colour – The Girl

– Yeasayer – Ambling Alp

– Iron & Wine – Flightless Bird

– The Beatles – Obladi Oblada

– The Postal Service – Be Still My Heart

– Mount Moriah – Bright Light

– Langhorne Slim – Say Yes

– Johnny Nash – Guava Jelly

– Cris Jacobs Band – Little Piece of Heaven

– Kassidy – Oh My God

– Frank Sinatra – The Way You Look Tonight

– Bob Marley – Three Little Birds

– Gabe Dixon – My Favorite

– JC Brooks & The Uptown Sound – I Am Trying to Break Your Heart

– The National – Fake Empire

– Noah & The Whale – 5 Years Time

– Old Crow Medicine Show – Wagon Wheel

– The Band – Atlantic City

– ALO – Girl I wanna lay you down

– Paul Simon – Cecilia

– The Avett Brothers – Kick Drum Heart

– Ben Lee – Catch My Disease

– Givers – Saw You First

– Dan Deacon – True Thrush

– Lord Huron – Time To Run

– Ben Howard – Keep Your Head Up

– The Belle Brigade – Losers

– Zac Brown Band – Toes

– Cayucas – High School Lover

– Vampire Weekend – I’m Going Down

– C2C – Down the Road

– Passion Pit – Take A Walk

– San Francisco – The Mowgli’s

– Ryan Adams – Lucky You

– Pickwick – Hacienda Motel

– Little Green Cars – the John Wayne

– The Lone Bellow – Green Eyes and a Heart of Gold

– The Civil Wars – Barton Hollow

– Eric Lindell – Feel Like I Do

– Sea Wolf – Old Friend

– The Replacements – Can’t Hardly Wait

Reception Songs:

– Family & Bridal Party Introduction – Avicii – Fade into darkness (Instrumental Club Version)

– Bride & Groom Entrance – April Smith & The Great Picture Show – Movie Loves A Screen

– First Dance – Tristan Prettyman – All I Want Is You (a lovely cover of that song from Juno)

 Father Daughter Mother Son Dance – Jesse Dee – On My Mind, In My Heart

– Our Sister-in-Law surprised Chris by singing – Ingrid Michaelson – The Way I Am

– Last Song to end the night – Take Me Home Tonight – Eddie Money

Now whenever I hear these songs, I have a whole new set of memories to go with it.

Leave a Reply

