An Ode to 2013

While you may be thinking that January is almost over and 2014 is now in full swing, I am ready to reflect on this past year. Every year, my husband and I create a photo calendar for our desk at home. It is fun to go through the past year of photos and then relive them through the next year. After 8 years of creating these, we now, perhaps with a stroke of genius or… pure laziness, start our calendars on Feb 1st (thanks Shutterfly for having this option). This gives us time to get through the holidays and such before we need to think about creating a new calendar. So needless to say, we just created our 2014 (+ January 2015) calendar and had a chance to look through all the photos. I felt inspired to share a few images from 2013 with you (which has also inspired an upcoming post of our honeymoon in Italy.. it was tough to narrow those down, so they get their own post!)

Image

 
2013 was a wild ride. A remembrance and celebration of life. The first steps into a marriage with the man who always stands by my side. A new job that helps push me creatively and professionally. Even getting a new car seems so trivial compared to the rest of the year. It is crazy to think how much can change in but one year. 2013 brought me all sorts of adventures and emotions. It has helped me explore the world and more about myself. Very challenging, but even more exciting. In this upcoming year, I plan to challenge myself in new ways, hopefully it will get the creative juices flowing and we will see where that takes me. In the meantime, let’s take a quick look back…
 
 
New Years 2013 / The Ravens win the Superbowl / A drive through Accident, MD /
Mr. Diego the Cat / Driving in Baltimore / Oriole’s Mural in Federal Hill /
A friends wedding / Jackson Square in New Orleans / Trees and Orchids in Miami
 
Image
 
Where can you find 80,000 tulips in Baltimore? Sherwood Gardens!
 
Image
 
The buddha I always spotted when driving down 83S. I finally went on a search for him. He resides at MICA.
 
Image
 
When opportunities arise, I practice some food photography. Before: Jalapeños. After: Grilled Jalapeño Poppers wrapped in Bacon.
 
Image
 
Chris & I got married this year!! Photo courtesy of With Love & Embers.
 
Image
 
Chris & I enjoying a few days in Southwestern Pennsylvania where we got married.
 
Image
 
Enjoying the view and palm trees in downtown San Diego.
 
Image
 
And wandering Balboa Park before a friend’s wedding.
 
Image
 
Hanging out and taking photos of my cousins kids in Centennial park.
 
Image
 
One of my favorite VW bugs in Hampden & the lovely Jeanne & Barry got engaged
 
Image
 
Little Ryan and his puppy dog at Centennial Park
 
Image
 
I love taking engagement photos of my friends! On the left is Drew & Emily in Fells Point. On the right is Kelly & Eric in Ocean City.
 
Image
 
Honeymoon Stop #1: Venice, Italy.
 
Image
 
 
Enjoying the lovely colors in Italy.
 
Image
 
Our 2nd stop – Florence, Italy: on the left is the piazza della signoria / on the right is a kitty in the Palazzo Pitti
 
Image
 
I will forever remember sunsets along the Arno.
 
Image
 
Our 3rd stop: Positano. “Sorry your hotel room is not available, will this villa suffice?”
 
Image
 
Day trip to Capri, boating through the Faraglioni
 
Image
 
Made it home to our neighborhood in time for Hampdenfest. HonFest is fun, but Hampdenfest is a great representation of Hampden, Baltimore, complete with the Stop Sign Olympics and Toilet Bowl Races. Where else can you see the Union man and Natty Boh Man duke it out? How much more Baltimore can you get?
 
Image
 
Union Craft Brewery / 4th of July Selfie / Mt. Vernon building /
New shoes at an O’s game / DuClaw Brewing caps / Road trip to Ocean City, Maryland /
Abnormally warm October weather at the beach / Stunning colors in the Fall / My requests of a calligrapher at a Maketribe Holiday Craft event
 
 
Image
 
My final project from a photography course I took at MICA.
 
Image
 
My sister is an animal and runs marathons. Leandra and I are more dedicated to making funny signs.
 
Image
 
Enjoying the holidays: My ever changing chalkboard sign with a quote from Elf / Mr. Diego destroying the wrapping paper I left out / A cup of hot chocolate on the porch.
 
Image
 
And this year wouldn’t be complete without another portrait of Mr. Diego.
 
Image
 
Here’s to 2014 being a good one!
Leave a Reply

