A Letter To My Mother

Photo Credit: With Love & Embers
Photo Credit: With Love & Embers

Today I was unable to be physically with you, but that gave me some time to reflect and think about how you are always with me. Your values have shaped who I am today and who I have yet to become. On a daily basis, I strive to be even a fraction of the woman you are, and hopefully one day in the future, the mother you are. Words cannot begin to describe my appreciation for you, but I’ll give it try.

Thank you for your patience. With three kids (four if you count Dad), I am sure you were tested time and time again. You knew when to tolerate our shenanigans and when to put your foot down.

Thank you for your kind and calm demeanor. You have taught me the definition of drama free. I feel like you live by the rule that if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say it at all. While we all can have negative thoughts about ourselves and others, you keep them at bay.

Speaking of, thank you for teaching me to see the best in everyone. Even when faced with the most difficult of personalities, there is always something positive you can find.

Thank you for your compassion. Without fail, I can rely on you to make me feel better, to understand and to not judge.

Thank you for putting your trust and confidence in me. I have always done things my own way and you gave me the freedom to make my own decisions. Sometimes my decisions aren’t always the best, but you are there for me if I ever fail.

Thank you for showing me what strength really means. Hopping on your bike and riding 150 miles requires physical strength, but the reasons behind it require a whole different type of strength. Your resilience and your spirit never cease to impress me, even when faced with the toughest of life’s challenges.

Thank you for teaching me what true selflessness looks like. You embody the saying “give the shirt off your back.” No, literally, I remember you once giving me the earrings out of your ears because I said I liked them.

Thank you for demonstrating that material possessions and a lavish lifestyle are not needed to find happiness. Happiness can be found in the simplest of things, like a sunny day, a bike ride, a cold beer, or a perfectly made grilled cheese.

I could keep going, but I think I will stop here for today. I mean, I need to save a few things for next Mother’s Day 😉 I love you!
2 thoughts on “A Letter To My Mother

Leave a Reply

